Low country boil

All them sauces

Now I am not Southern, well at least not that southern, but I do love The Living Daylights out of some southern food. I’m  talking collard greens,  mac and cheese, fried chicken, crawfish, catfish, all the fish. I know it isn’t good for me but damn if it isn’t tasty sometimes. So I was chatting with my sister and decided, quite at random, that we need to do a low country boil. If you are unfamiliar with the concept, let ms enlighten you. Picture if you will: shrimp; crawdad; potatoes; corn; Smoked sausage; and enough Cajun seasoning to titalate your tastebuds all boiled together to completion. Now serve it with some drawn butter, cocktail sauce, and a remoulade sauce.
Now I’m no expert on this, frankly I’m doing this by the seat of my pants, but I know what tastes good at least to me and I’m going to make me some boiled shrimp, I am.


The Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs shrimp: uncooked, shells on, deviened.
  • 3 lbs crawfish: alive if you can get em, ya can’t here in AZ
  • 2 lbs smoked sausage: cut into 2 inch pieces.
  • 1 packet zaterans shrimp boil seasoning
  • 3 lbs red potatoes: rinsed
  • 6 ears of corn: if at all possible use fresh, frozen is fine but the texture is diffrent.
  • 1/2 Cup hot sauce

The Process

  1. Bring 2 gallons of water to a boil with the seasoning bag.
  2. When water is boiling add in the potatoes and sausage. Boil for approx 20 minutes.
  3. Add in corn, continue to boil for additional 15 minutes.
  4. Drop in your crawfish. Boil for 10 minutes.
  5. When craw fish begin to float add in your shrimp and let boil 5 minutes.
  6. At this point add in extra seasoning, if you are using it, then turn off the heat.
  7. Add in 1/2 a buckets worth of ice. This will slow the cooking proccess and let everything steep in the broth for a few minutes.
  8. Now while everything is steeping, go outside and line a table with newspaper, set up space so everyone eating has access.
  9. Now this is essential, remove your glorious stew from its pot, drain it well and dump all of you seafoody goodness out on to the newspaper lined table. 
  10. DIG IN!!

Remember that the variations on this are limitless add in whatever suits you.

Leave a Reply

